Application Development Life Cycle

NextLogixs will take you through every stage of the software development process (SDLC) – from a business analysis stage through UX/UI and application development to deployment and ongoing support.


    Application Development Life Cycle Explained


    Phase 1: Application requirement analysis

    The requirement collection and business is the first stage in the web and mobile application development process. It is performed by the senior team of business analysts, technical architects and project managers together with all the business stakeholders and domain experts in the industry.
    • Scope definition of the entire project
    • Planning for the quality assurance requirements
    • Definition of anticipated issues, opportunities
    • Recognition of the risks involved
    • Timeline definition

    Phase 2: Feasibility study

    When the requirement analysis phase is done the next step is to define and document software needs in the ‘Software Requirement Specification’ (‘SRS’) document. It has everything which ought to be structured and created during the application development life cycle.

    There are main five types of feasibilities checks:
    • Economic
    • Legal
    • Operation
    • Technical
    • Schedule

    Phase 3: Design

    Based on the SRS document the team prepares the system and software design to define the whole IT system architecture. This design phase will be a base for the next coding phase.

    There are two types of design documents that are developed:

    High-Level Design (HLD)

    • Brief description of each module and its functionality
    • Dependencies between modules
    • Database tables & their main elements
    • Architecture diagrams
    • Technology details
    Low-Level Design(LLD)
    • Functional modules logic
    • Detailed database tables
    • Complete interface detail
    • Complete modules input and outputs

    Phase 4: Coding

    The next phase is coding itself – the longest phase of the software development life cycle.

    Peculiarities of the phase:

    • Developers should follow some predified coding guidelines.
    • The whole development is divided into tasks for specific modules development.

    Phase 5: Testing

    Once some part of the software coding is complete, it is sent for testing and the QA  team starts testing the functionality to verify that the application works following the requirements.

    The process is the following:

    • QA team finds some issues;
    • QA team sends them to the dev team;
    • Dev deam fixes the issues;
    • QA team rechecks the functionality.

    Phase 6: Deployment

    Once the software is developed and fully tested, the final deployments process is launched.

    QA team checks the software on the production environment.


    Phase 7: Maintenance

    After the release, the application continues its cycle following 3 possible ways:
    • Bug fixing
    • Software upgrade
    • Enhancement with new features

    Our Recent Works

    Web Development